7″ tablets on the rise!

Howdy Everyone!  Just happened to read about how the demand for 7″ tablet screens has gone up throughout 2012, and by the end of the year, those size screens sh0uld hold 32% of the marketshare.  Wooh…very interesting.  Had I heard that prior to Friday afternoon, I would have dismissed it.

On Friday, I had a chance to meet with some of Samsung‘s personnel, who came on site to our offices to show off quite a few new technologies.  I”ll only mention in passing the near-bezel-less Digital Signage and the wireless printing…really it was about the Galaxy Note and the Galaxy tablet.  Now I hear about a lot of things…and I’ll play with them when I get a chance, but I’d never had the chance to see one up close & personal til then.  The 7″ screen is a lot more easier to wield than I thought, and a heck of a lot less heavy than a 10″ tablet…really in that unit I saw the future of tablet computing.  That was the size we’ve been looking for…it’s easy to see, compact enough to carry without issue, you can use a stylus to write notes (if you’re old fashioned like me)…to name a few.

This is what I see in factories, offices, and in public.  The size is what counts.  Put it in a pocket and you’ve got everything you need.  (Heck, i was thinking of the note technology coupled with wireless Samsung printing in a restaurant.)   Maybe Apple will do a mini-iPad…who knows?  What I can see is that companies like Samsung are going to try and bank on this 7″ standard, just to give you more options.

More options = more better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

